Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
SC Biz News


Chuck Hall elected chair of the SC Manufacturers Alliance

  • Share

The South Carolina Manufacturers Alliance has elected Chuck Hall, president and CEO of Barnet, as the next chair of the organization’s board of directors. The election took place Monday at SCMA’s two-day annual meeting in Charleston.

Hall“I am excited and truly honored to be elected by my colleagues to serve as chair of the SCMA,” Hall said in a news release. “Manufacturing is an industry that creates so many wonderful opportunities for our citizens and for our communities. I am extremely proud to be a manufacturer in the great state of South Carolina. For more than a century, the SCMA has worked tirelessly as the voice of South Carolina manufacturing, and I look forward to continuing that mission.”

Hall is a graduate of the Georgia Institute of Technology where he earned a Bachelor of Science and a Master of Science in Chemical Engineering in 1985 and 1987. He began his career with the Hoechst Celanese Corp., where he held various manufacturing, project management and corporate leadership roles. Since joining Barnet in 1998, Hall has continued to serve in a several roles that range from international business development and management to manufacturing operations, according to the news release.

He became the president of Barnet in 2017. Hall also serves on the Pelham Medical Center Advisory Board, the School of Chemical Engineering External Advisory Board at Michigan Technological University, and the board of directors for the National Council of Textile Organizations.   

Barnet is a manufacturing, recycling and trading company specializing in a range of fibers, polymers and yarns. Headquartered in Spartanburg, the company employs more than 500 people with operations in the United States, Germany, India and China. The company was founded in 1898. 

 The board’s executive committee includes immediate past chair April Allen, Continental; first vice chair Tommy Preston, The Boeing Co.; second vice chair Kevin Brown, Milliken & Co.; treasurer Curtis Hutto, Thompson Construction Group Inc.; and textile council chair Ellis Fisher, Inman Mills.

Reach Ross Norton at 864-720-1222.

  • Share
Write a Comment

Subscribe to Our Digital Newsletters